Zervas: Elegy for Antigone for Alto Saxophone and Strings

Zervas: Elegy for Antigone for Alto Saxophone and Strings

Code: JP6046
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0542-5

PRICE: $40.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

"Elegy for Antigone for Alto Saxophone and Strings" (2017), is based on Aeolian Mode and recasts music material borrowed from former compositions. The character of the piece is lyric-nostalgic-sentimental with dramatic outbursts, in a process to reflect Antigone’s tragic personality of the ancient Greek plays. Furthermore, the tone qualities of the specific instrumentation symbolically reinforce the antagonism between ‘ethos’ and ‘pathos’ – the two opposite poles that combine in the myth of Antigone. On the other hand, the two cadenzas, the introductory and the intermediate, highlight the sonorous and technical flexibility the instrument. The piece is a transcription of an earlier piece under the same title written for oboe and piano.

This product comes with a full conductor's score and parts for solo alto saxophone, violins I and II, viola, cello and double bass. The string parts have the following numbers included in the set: 4-4-3-2-1. Extra parts may be purchased separately by contacting Jeanne Inc.

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
Click here for sample pages:
score opening
solo saxophone page 1 and page 3 (cadenza)

Click here for bio information on Athanasios Zervas