Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Marcello (Camwell): Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Marcello (Camwell): Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Code: JP4110
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0635-4

PRICE: $15.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The Concerto D935, originally for oboe, is likely Marcello’s best-known work today; it was composed between 1708 and 1713 and published by Jeanne Roger in Amsterdam in 1717. It is an example of an early solo concerto, as opposed to the more ensemble-based Concerto Grosso (a form heavily used by contemporaries such as Handel and Corelli) of the early 18th-century. The work is in three movements - Andante e Spicato, Adagio, and a vigorous Presto that resembles the popular 'rage arias' of Italian opera at that time. The concerto exists in both C minor and D minor keys, for reasons that have never been definitively proven. A further mystery with this concerto included which Marcello brother actually wrote the piece. Until recent scholarship definitively proved that the composer of the concerto was indeed Alessandro, there was some confusion on this point.

The concerto remains a popular work of the Italian-baroque, with a wide variety of recordings available that feature oboe, harpsichord, organ, trumpet, and saxophone as the featured solo instrument. Dave Camwell has done two editions of the concerto: 1) soprano saxophone and piano and 2) alto saxophone and piano, intentionally keeping the solo part in D minor, mainly for reasons of tessitura. The piano accompaniment has been transposed in a way that keeps the solo part itself in D minor and the concert-pitch accompaniment modified as needed. The music on this web page, JP4110, is for alto saxophone soloist.

Ornaments are a very important part of Baroque music, typically added the second time of a repeated section, or more generally throughout a movement to add stylistic flare. Camwell has included an optional, ornamented part for the soloist. This can be used as it is, or as an example for the performer to do their own.

A video performance of samples from Marcello (Camwell): Concerto, D935 for Soprano Saxophone and piano is available on YouTube

Click here for bio information on Dave Camwell