Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Schumann (Camwell): Traumerei, op. 15, no. 7, for saxophone quartet [SATB or AATB]

Schumann (Camwell): Traumerei, op. 15, no. 7, for saxophone quartet [SATB or AATB]

Code: JP4065
Grade: 6-7
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0197-7

PRICE: $6.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

In 1838, Robert Schumann wrote a set of 13 piano pieces he titled Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood). The music imagines memories and feelings of childhood but from a sentimental adult perspective. They were composed during the spring of 1838 during a difficult period of separation from his fiancee, Clara Wieck, who was on tour as a pianist and whose father objected to the idea of her marriage to the composer. In March of that year, Robert wrote to Clara, "I have been waiting for your letter and have in the meantime filled several books with pieces.... You once said to me that I often seemed like a child, and I suddenly got inspired and knocked off around 30 quaint little pieces.... I selected several and titled them Kinderszenen. You will enjoy them, though you will need to forget that you are a virtuoso when you play them."

The best known movement is No. 7, Traumerei, meaning “Reverie” or “Dreaming.” Its delicate melody and tranquil mood is often used by performers to calm audiences after a long series of rousing encores. Duration approximately 3 minutes. Score and individual parts are included.

This arrangement for saxophone quartet by Dave Camwell is preferred to be done with soprano saxophone, but an alternate alto saxophone part, replacing the soprano if desired, is also included in the set.

Audio sample from Schumann: Traumerei, arr. for saxophone quartet by Dave Camwell

Click here for bio information on Dave Camwell