Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Canfield: Sonata after Poulenc for clarinet and piano

Canfield: Sonata after Poulenc for clarinet and piano

Code: JP2157
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0616-3

PRICE: $25.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Sonata after Poulenc was originally written for Claude Delangle, Professor of Saxophone at the Paris Conservatoire. The music seeks to capture something of Poulenc's ebullient spirit, and his gift for melody and typically French harmonies. Canfield's own voice peeks through at certain points, and he didn't worry too much about those spots, simply concentrating on producing a piece that would be both fun to play and to listen to.

Initially, Canfield resisted publishing a version of this piece for clarinet and piano due to his not wishing to “compete” with composers who had written works for a given instrument in their style, and Poulenc’s own Clarinet Sonata is one of the staples of the repertory for the instrument. However, after hearing the saxophone version of the piece performed by several gifted players, the composer thought that it would work at least equally well on the clarinet, given that performers on that instrument are not overly burdened with repertory in a neo-Romantic style.

There are 3 movements containing some difficult technical demands, but also have lovely melodic writing.

Sound samples are currently only available in the alto saxophone version and
are provided here for reference only.

Audio samples from Canfield: Sonata after Poulenc for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield