Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Bliss: Oboe Quintet (parts)

Bliss: Oboe Quintet (parts)

Code: JP1090
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0337-7

PRICE: $15.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The English composer, Sir Arthur Bliss (1891-1975), was born in the London suburb, Barnes. He attended Pembroke College where he studied both the classics and music, graduating in 1913. He attended the Royal College of Music in London for a year, where he studied under Sir Charles Stanford, but also found inspiration from Ralph Vaughan Williams and Gustav Holst, as well as fellow students Herbert Howells, Eugene Goosens and Arthur Benjamin.

The manuscript of Bliss’s popular work known as his “Oboe Quintet” has the title handwritten as “Music for oboe & four strings.” It is dedicated “To Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge, true friend to all music, young as well as old.” The Quintet was premiered on Sept. 11, 1927 with Leon Goossens and the Venetian Quartet. Alban Berg was in attendance at the premiere and afterward praised the Quintet to Bliss. Today the Oboe Quintet is remembered as one of the finest works of the composer.

Many of the inconsistencies between the score and parts in the original publication have been corrected in this new edition, edited by Valarie Anderson.

The set of parts and the full score are sold separately.

Audio samples from Bliss: Quintet for Oboe and String Quartet

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP1091 Bliss: Oboe Quintet (score) $15.00