Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Telemann: 12 Fantasias TWV 40:2-13

Telemann: 12 Fantasias TWV 40:2-13

Code: JP8021
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0280-6

PRICE: $12.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1757) was a prolific composer having completed over 3000 works including 1043 church cantatas, 46 settings of the Passion, and nearly 50 concertos for various instruments. This edition of the Twelve Fantasias TWV 40:2-13 is based on what is thought to be the only surviving copy of the first edition, which is at the Brussels Conservatory Library. It was most likely published by Telemann himself in Hamburg between 1725 and 1730.

In the first edition there are several instances where the written notes are unclear or Telemann made corrections by inserting extra notes. We have made decisions as to what we felt his intent was, based on similar passages or implied harmonies. Several courtesy accidentals have been added. Otherwise, our current edition is published as originally notated by Telemann.

The popularity of the 12 Fantasias has endured for almost three hundred years. They are rich with chromatic harmonies and incorporate several national styles, including the French, German and Italian. In these short movements, Telemann was able to incorporate a wide variety of musical expression into a single line.

Although Telemann's original intent was probably for these Fantasias to be played on flute, the music is also perfectly suited for other treble clef instruments as was typical of that time.