Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Stephenson: The Balcony Scene for oboe or flute and English horn

Stephenson: The Balcony Scene for oboe or flute and English horn

Code: JP1102
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0622-4

PRICE: $12.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

From one of the great masterpieces, Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare, the composer of this music, Robert Stephenson, attempts to recreate the thrill of the balcony scene using the universal language of music. It is music that is reflective, anxious, conflicting and eventually harmonious. How an actor delivers a line, or a musician a musical phrase, helps determine it’s emotional effect on the audience. Like the wide range of human experience, it is about knowing and feeling the emotions that are within all of us.

The music is written as a duet for oboe or flute and English horn. One player starts the performance, unaccompanied, in the balcony, and the other joins in, but on stage. The dialogue continues with the two players eventually joining together on stage. At the end, they exit the stage, while playing, in opposite directions, symbolically representing Shakespeare's famous lines "Good night, good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, That I shall say goodnight till it be morrow".

Score and individual parts are included. Duration: approximately 7 minutes.

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by Robert Stephenson

Click here for bio information on Robert Stephenson

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP7002 Stephenson: 40 New Melodic and Technical Etudes for Oboe or Saxophone $19.95
JP7019 Stephenson: Dance Etudes for Oboe $37.50
JP7020 Stephenson: Dance Etudes for Flute $37.50
JP7065 Stephenson: Mastering Technique: 36 Thematic Studies for Oboe $39.95
JP7064 Stephenson: Quotation Etudes for Flute $55.00
JP7062 Stephenson: Quotation Etudes for Oboe, Clarinet or Saxophone $55.00
JP7056 Stephenson: Rhythm, Time & Meter for Flute $25.00
JP7054 Stephenson: Rhythm, Time & Meter for Oboe, Clarinet or Saxophone $25.00
JP7066 Stephenson: Intermediate Etudes for Oboe $25.00