Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Mozart (Anderson): Five Divertimenti No. 5 (2 clarinets, BC) parts/score

Mozart (Anderson): Five Divertimenti No. 5 (2 clarinets, BC) parts/score

Code: JP2056
Grade: 6-7
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.

PRICE: $8.75

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The attribution of the Five Divertimentos, K. 439b to Mozart has been questioned by some scholars. There is no surviving autograph and no reference to the 25 pieces in Mozart's own catalogue of his compositions. Nevertheless, sometime between 1787-90, Mozart supposedly wrote some trios for Anton Stadler. Unfortunately, Stadler claimed that the scores were in a suitcase that was stolen while he was in Germany so the original scores have never been found. These trios were published by Simrock between 1806-1813 for 2 clarinets and bassoon and had 25 movements divided into 5 "serenades." It was not until the 1960s that researchers proposed that these works were probably for 3 basset horns. We will never be certain of the intended instrumentation or if Mozart planned the various movements as a series of separate pieces or in collections of movements for Divertimenti. This current edition, edited by John Anderson for 2 B-flat clarinets and bass clarinet, includes suggested dynamics and articulations. Score and parts are included in the set. Divertimento No. 5 has 5 movements with a total duration of approximately 10-11 minutes.