Bach-Schumann-Camwell: Allegro Assai, BWV 1005 for 2 Alto Saxophones and Piano

Bach-Schumann-Camwell: Allegro Assai, BWV 1005 for 2 Alto Saxophones and Piano

Code: JP4097
Grade: 7
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0536-4

PRICE: $11.25

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin (BWV 1001–1006) are a set of six works composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. The set was completed by 1720 but was not published until 1802 by Simrock. Even after publication, it was largely ignored until the celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim started performing these works. In 1853, Robert Schumann heard a performance of Bach’s Chaconne with Mendelssohn's piano accompaniment. Schumann thought that other works of Bach for solo violin would reach a wider audience if they also had piano accompaniments. He suggested this idea to the publisher Hartel on January 4 and completed the accompaniments to the six sonatas by February 5. This arrangement for two alto saxophones and piano is based upon the last movement from Sonata No. 3 BWV 1005 for violin along with Robert Schumann’s accompaniment.

Duration approx. 3.5 minutes. Alternate versions for soprano saxophone and piano or alto saxophone and piano are also available. Click on the link listed in "Related products" to see these other versions.

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
Click here for sample pages (from score):
Allegro Assai (beginning)
Allegro Assai (ending)

Audio sample from Bach/Schumann(Camwell): "Allegro Assai" from Sonata No. 3, BWV 1005
for 2 Alto Saxophones and Piano
- see Allegro Assai (ending) sample pages above

Click here for bio information on Dave Camwell