Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Griebling-Haigh: Valses Fantasques for Clarinet Choir

Griebling-Haigh: Valses Fantasques for Clarinet Choir

Code: JP2048
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0432-9

PRICE: $44.75

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

This work for 8-part clarinet choir is a set of variations on the letters in C-L-A-R-I-N-E-T. It was commissioned by Vandoren USA and premiered at the 2010 Vandoren Clarinet Ensemble Festival in Los Angeles. All players are treated as equals with each part enjoying its fair share of melodies, flourishes, and accompanimental figures. The piece begins with a chorale, progresses through uneasy transitional material, bursts forth into a zippy scherzando, evolves into a jazzy interlude, settles back into a pair of more standard waltz themes, and builds to a fortissimo climax based on the chorale before recapitulation of the scherzando. Although not every section of the piece is in 3/4 meter (including 5/8, 6/8, and 7/8), a colorful dance-like feeling prevails throughout. Instrumentation has E-flat cl, 3 B-flat cl, alto cl or basset horn, bass cl, contra E-flat cl, contra B-flat cl. Alternate parts are included for A clarinet (sub. For alto clarinet) and string bass (sub. For contra B-flat cl). Duration approx. 9 minutes.

Click here for bio information on Margaret Griebling-Haigh