Click on main image for larger view and sample pages
  Additional samples at end of product description

Canfield: Concerto after Gliere for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble (score/parts)

Canfield: Concerto after Gliere for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble (score/parts)

Code: JP6007
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0158-8

PRICE: $300.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

This 3-movement composition was composed in 2007 and dedicated to Eugene Rousseau. Movements 2 and 3 were based on Gliere's Intermezzo and Tarentella, originally for Double Bass solo, composed in 1900. Significant reworking of the solo part was done to better fit the saxophone. A completely new movement was added (movement 1) based on Gliere's style. The concerto is scored for versions with orchestra or band accompaniment as well as a piano reduction. Claude Delangle, Professor of Saxophone, Paris Conservatoire, says "I have played many times during the two last concert seasons David DeBoor Canfield’s saxophone work, Concerto after Gliere with huge success, not only among the audience, but also among saxophone colleagues attending. They immediately took note of David’s name for their future concert programs, a very good sign for his European recognition!"

This version for wind ensemble accompaniment has parts for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 3 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 1 each of alto, tenor and baritone saxophone, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, euphonium, tuba, double bass, harp, and percussion. The set includes parts (including solo saxophone) and score. The flutes, clarinets, euphonium, and tuba each have parts for 2 stands included; the remainder have 1. Extra parts may be ordered separately if needed by contacting Jeanne, Inc.

This is an exciting work and one of Canfield's most popular. Duration approximately 22 minutes.

Additional page samples:
Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to view samples.
Click here for PDF samples

Audio samples are currently available only from the orchestra version of Canfield: Concerto after Gliere

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP4019 Canfield: Concerto after Gliere for Alto Saxophone and Piano $40.00
JP6005 Canfield: Concerto after Gliere for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra (score/parts) $300.00