Click on main image for larger view and sample pages
  Additional samples at end of product description

Monti (Anderson): Czardas for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Monti (Anderson): Czardas for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Code: JP6026
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.

PRICE: $50.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The origin of the Csardas can be traced back to the 18th century Hungarian verbunkos, used as a recruiting dance by the Hungarian army. Many composers throughout history have used csardas themes in their works including Franz Liszt, Johannes Brahms, Pablo de Sarasate, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and others. One of the best known is the virtuoso violin solo composed in 1904 by Vittorio Monti (1868-1922). The music has been adapted for several other instruments including winds, strings, piano and accordion.

This edition has been arranged by John Anderson for solo alto saxophone with wind ensemble accompaniment. The solo saxophone part is meant to be double-tongued but the articulated passages are also very successful if slurred. An (optional) altissimo section is found in the middle of the movement. An alternate version of the accompaniment arranged for piano is also available.

A condensed conductor's score is provided. The wind ensemble instrumentation is as follows:
  • Solo Alto Saxophone
  • Flutes 1-2
  • Oboes 1-2
  • Bassoons 1-2
  • Clarinets 1-3 in B-flat
  • Alto Clarinet or Basset Horn
  • Bass Clarinet
  • Alto Saxophones 1-2
  • Tenor Saxophone
  • Baritone Saxophone
  • Trumpets 1-3 in B-flat
  • Horns 1-4 in F
  • Trombones 1-2
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • 3 Percussion

Additional page samples from the solo saxophone part:
Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to view samples.
Click here for PDF samples

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP4049 Monti (Anderson): Czardas for Alto Saxophone and Piano $7.50