Click on main image for larger view and sample pages
  Additional samples at end of product description

Register: Evening Peace for Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano (score/parts)

Register: Evening Peace for Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano (score/parts)

Code: JP5117
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.

PRICE: $120.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Evening Peace by P. Brent Register is a large, 10-movement work for three vocal soloists, plus oboe, bassoon and piano, with a total duration of approximately 38 minutes. The text for the music is from "Improvisations on the poetry of Tu Fu (712-770)" by John Digby. The set includes a piano/score and separate parts for each of the three vocalists and the oboist and bassoonist. An additional piano/score can be purchased as a separate item. See JP5118 listed in "Related products"

The first movement, “Almost Autumn,” laments the fading flowers and the end of spring and is scored for the full ensemble of soprano, tenor, baritone, oboe, bassoon, and piano (4.5 minutes). “Regretfully,” movement 2, is for soprano and oboe only (4 minutes). The text warns of impending dangers of loitering tribes from the north that in the past have led to death, chaos, and famine. “What Do I Have to Eat?” in movement 3 (3 minutes) answers this question with “A whole lot of nothing, a mouthful of air.” Yet there still is hope because a single coin found is hope: “one step from step to recovery.” This movement is scored for tenor and bassoon and is in a light, jazzy mood. Movement 4, “Exile,” for baritone, bassoon and piano (4 minutes), describes a poor, but happy family. The father says, “The best medicine here is contentment.” The fifth movement, “No End to Wishing or Wanting,” for the full ensemble of vocalists and instrumentalists (4.5 minutes), tells of a flood and how, if the story-teller had the money, he would buy a boat and “tie it to my floating wicker gate.” Movement 6, “Missing Home and Family” is scored for baritone, oboe and piano (5.5 minutes). The story laments old age and a perceived lack of personal value. He says, “Even the lowest servant of the court should be allowed to retire and spend the remaining days with his family.” Movements 7-9, about 2.5 minutes each, are played without pause. “Up With the Sun” for soprano, tenor, baritone, oboe and bassoon is happy – spring has arrived early! “Still a Little Tipsy,” for soprano, bassoon and piano, is about a poet who says to himself, “one cool bowl of wine is worth sheets and sheets of poems.” “Riverside Scene” for tenor, oboe and piano, describes a humble but peaceful thatch home facing the river. Despite the annoyance of bird droppings and mosquitoes, he still manages to “pull out a decent poem every now and then.” The work concludes in movement 10, “Evening Peace,” for the full ensemble once again (5 minutes). The story is about a father who thinks to himself, no matter what troubles happen, they all dissolve as “I relish the aroma this evening after the meal, perhaps a game of chess or a little music with my wife and children.

Additional page samples:
Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to view samples.
Click here for PDF samples

Audio samples from Register: Evening Peace

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by P. Brent Register

Click here for bio information on P. Brent Register

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP5118 Register: Evening Peace for Soprano, Tenor, Baritone, Oboe, Bassoon, and Piano (score only) $38.00
JP1068 Register: The Silence Flowering Its Birdsong for Tenor (or Soprano), English Horn and Piano $50.00
JP5126 Register: The Gatherer of Lost Children for Soprano, Oboe, Violoncello, Piano and Percussion $55.00
JP5130 Register: Bedtime Stories (beyond the window) for soprano, flute, oboe, cello and piano [parts only] $78.50