Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Brahms (Canfield): How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place, arr. for saxophone choir

Brahms (Canfield): How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place, arr. for saxophone choir

Code: JP4095
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0537-1

PRICE: $35.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

“How Lovely is Thy Dweling Place” is one of the seven movements in Brahms’ A German Requiem. Although the Requiem Mass in the Roman Catholic liturgy begins with prayers for the dead ("Grant them eternal rest, O Lord"), A German Requiem focuses on the living, beginning with the text "Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted." Brahms composed the requiem mass between 1865 and 1868. Brahms himself made an alternate arrangement of the music as a piano duet, four hands on one piano, including the vocal parts, probably for use in a home or as a chamber performance.

This music was originally arranged for saxophone quartet by David DeBoor Canfield in 2013 for the memorial service of Dr. Thomas Liley, who was well-known in the saxophone world as performer, pedagogue, scholar, lecturer, researcher and biographer. Unlike the quartet version, which necessarily omitted some notes from the original orchestral version of the great German master, this new arrangement for saxophone ensemble covers virtually all of them among its 12 parts for various members of the saxophone family.

Set includes full score and saxophone parts for sopranino, soprano 1-2, alto 1-3, tenor 1-3, baritone 1-2, and bass. Duration: approximately 5.5 minutes.

Audio sample from Brahms/Canfield: How Lovely is Thy Dwelling Place for Saxophone Ensemble

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield