Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Tchaikovsky (Canfield): Nutcracker Suite arr. for Saxophone, Violin and Piano

Tchaikovsky (Canfield): Nutcracker Suite arr. for Saxophone, Violin and Piano

Code: JP4064
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0193-9

PRICE: $46.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery
  add an alto saxophone part for movement 1 for $1.50

Product Description

David DeBoor Canfield’s arrangement of Tchaikovsky’s beloved "Nutcracker Suite" was commissioned by the European Fratres Trio (Hayrapet Arakelyan, saxophone; Fedor Roudine, violin; Rudolf Vanks, piano) in 2014, and was undertaken between April 5th and May 12th of that year.

Canfield kept as close as possible to the original work, given the fact that an entire orchestral score had to be reduced to just three instruments. Fortunately, it was possible to retain almost every line in Tchaikovsky’s original work, so the arrangement is quite recognizable in its new garb, even as it poses various challenges to the performers.

At the suggestion of the saxophonist of the group, Canfield elected to utilize the soprano saxophone for the overture, retaining the alto instrument for the remaining movements. Some saxophonists may want to play the entire work on the alto, which is fine with the arranger. If desired, an alternate, alto saxophone part for the first movement may be ordered from Jeanne, Inc.

NOTE: If this alternate alto saxophone part for the first movement is ordered at the same time as the other performance parts, you will save 25% over the price when purchased separately. Check the box above, BEFORE adding product to your basket, to add this alternate part for movement 1.

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP4064a Tchaikovsky (Canfield): Nutcracker Suite (movement 1 alternate alto saxophone part only) $2.00