Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Canfield: Elegy after Brahms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Canfield: Elegy after Brahms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Code: JP4038
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0007-9

PRICE: $10.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Elegy after Brahms is an arrangement of the slow movement of the Trio after Brahms for alto saxophone, violin and piano by David DeBoor Canfield. This arrangement was undertaken at the suggestion of Thomas Liley, for whom the composer had written the trio a year earlier. The adagio movement, unlike the other movements of the trio, permitted such an arrangement without sacrificing too much of the spirit of the original work, and is intended as a piece in an older style for saxophonists who are looking for more original romantic music for their instrument. The present work was originally titled "Romance after Brahms," but shortly after the composer had sent it to Liley, he received word of his passing, and at that point renamed the work in the memory of his dear friend.

The trio itself had been written in an attempt to fill a void of original romantic chamber music for saxophone. While Canfield had and has no delusions about being another Brahms, he agreed that he would attempt to write such a work, given that he himself loves Brahms' music, and knows it well. In fact, even though unlike his Concerto after Glière, which utilized some of Gliere's own music along with original music by Canfield, the composer in the trio has not quoted anything from Brahms' own output. There are, however, likely phrases, chord sequences and other such things that could be found somewhere in the music of this composer. This arrangement removes the violin part, giving its lines in large measure to the saxophone, and to a lesser extent to the piano. Duration: approximately 5 minutes.

Audio sample from Canfield: Elegy after Brahms for Alto Saxophone and Piano

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
CD4006 Canfield: Saxophone Music, Vol. II $12.00