Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Canfield: Sextet for Clarinet, String Quartet and Chimes (score)

Canfield: Sextet for Clarinet, String Quartet and Chimes (score)

Code: JP2151
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0436-7

PRICE: $25.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

This Sextet for Clarinet, String Quartet and Chimes by David DeBoor Canfield was commissioned by Australian clarinetist Robert Schubert for inclusion on a compact disc project. The music, composed in 2014, is written in four movements, the third of which has an extended duet for clarinet and chimes.

Given the nationality of the commissioner, and Canfield’s fond memories of a trip that he and his wife took to Australia in 2009, he attempted to bring Australian elements into the work. In the first movement, the sounds of the Aboriginal instrument, the digeridoo, are evoked in the clarinet and cello. The second movement, containing many leaps in the clarinet, is meant to suggest the leaping characteristic of Australia’s most distinctive animal, the kangaroo. The mysterious atmosphere of the third movement suggests the silent wonders of the Great Barrier Reef, another place visited by the Canfields, and the final movement is suggestive of the gregarious nature of the Australians they met on their trip, remembering particularly a gathering that included steaks on the “Barbie.”

The running time of the work is approximately 17 minutes. This item (JP2151) is the score only. See JP2150 to purchase the performance parts.

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP2150 Canfield: Sextet for Clarinet, String Quartet and Chimes (parts) $33.25