Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Canfield: Opus Pocus for Clarinet Quartet

Canfield: Opus Pocus for Clarinet Quartet

Code: JP2124
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0302-5

PRICE: $35.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Opus Pocus was originally composed in 2011 for the Arundo Donax Reed Quintet. The instrumentation was for five reed instruments: oboe, soprano saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet, and bassoon. In 2012, the work was arranged and rescored for clarinet quartet: E-flat soprano clarinet, B-flat clarinet, Basset Horn, and Bass Clarinet. An alternate part for alto clarinet is also available, in place of the Basset Horn, as a separate purchase. See JP2124a listed in "Related products"

Each of the 5 movements is based on a famous magician (or sorcerer). The first movement, "The Witch of Endor," was composed before the work was titled so is the one movement that does not consciously portray the person memorialized. The second movement, "Simon Magus" (Simon the Sorcerer) is taken from Scripture, where Simon attempts to purchase power to bestow the gift of the Holy Spirit upon believers, and is thereupon condemned by the Apostle Peter. In between the tonal outer sections is a dissonant section to suggest the true condition of the sorcerer's heart. "Merlin" is the slow movement of the suite, and looks back to the fictional magician often associated with the court of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. The movement is mysterious and subdued throughout, to suggest legend and facts obscured by the mists of time. Harry Houdini was doubtless the greatest escape artist of all time. His mastery of this art is suggested by the mercurial lines in the various parts in the fourth movement that bears his name. The final movement, written in tribute to the most famous living magician, David Copperfield, attempts to suggest Copperfield's ability to seemingly make things disappear. The form of this movement is ABRACADABRA, where the "R" stands for "repeat." Thus, each time the "A" and "B" themes come back, there are measures (in increasing numbers) that have disappeared, such that by their last iteration, there is almost nothing left.

This music has very colorful writing with some very challenging technique for all players. Total duration approximately 17 minutes.

Audio samples are currently only available from Opus Pocus for five harmonius woodwinds (oboe, soprano saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet, and bassoon)

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield

Related products you may also like

Code Name Price
JP2124a Canfield: Opus Pocus for Clarinet Quartet (alto clarinet only) $5.00