Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Tchaikovsky (Canfield): Nutcracker Suite arr. for Clarinet, Violin and Piano

Tchaikovsky (Canfield): Nutcracker Suite arr. for Clarinet, Violin and Piano

Code: JP2117
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0194-6

PRICE: $46.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

David DeBoor Canfield’s arrangement of Tchaikovsky’s beloved Nutcracker Suite was commissioned by the European Fratres Trio in 2014, and was undertaken between April 5th and May 12th of that year. The original arrangement incorporating a saxophone was written so that a clarinet could be substituted for the saxophone, and because of Tchaikovsky’s prominent clarinet part in the orchestra score, this version will sound a bit closer to the original conception of the Russian master.

Canfield kept as close as possible to the original work, given the fact that an entire orchestral score had to be reduced to just three instruments. Fortunately, it was possible to retain almost every line in Tchaikovsky’s original work, so the arrangement is quite recognizable in its new garb, even as it poses various challenges to the performers.

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield