Click on main image for larger view and sample pages
  Additional samples at end of product description

Canfield: Trio after Brahms for Clarinet, Violin & Piano

Canfield: Trio after Brahms for Clarinet, Violin & Piano

Code: JP2080
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0026-0

PRICE: $40.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

The "Trio after Brahms" for clarinet in B-flat, violin and piano is another work in the composer's continuing series of original romantic pieces for instruments for which there was little written during the lifetime of the great romantic composers. Canfield, in his "Trio after Brahms," has not quoted anything from Brahms' own output, but there are undoubtedly phrases, chord sequences and other such things that could be found somewhere in the music of this composer. Nor did Canfield worry too much about the places in the piece that Brahms would not have written, especially the rather wild harmonic shifts in the final movement. Canfield did not want to completely suppress his own musical voice, and consequently left some of his own "musical fingerprints" in the work. The work is in the usual four-movement format that Brahms used. Duration approximately 23 minutes.

Additional page samples:
Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to view samples.
Click here for PDF samples

Click here for a complete listing of compositions by David DeBoor Canfield

Click here for bio information on David DeBoor Canfield