Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

12 Tang Dynasty Fantasies for solo bassoon

12 Tang Dynasty Fantasies for solo bassoon

Code: JP3035
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0624-8

PRICE: $30.00

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

"Twelve Tang Dynasty Fantasies for Bassoon" is a collection of 12 unaccompanied solos for bassoon. The work is a collaboration between composer/bssoonists GenXiang Liu, JiCheng Feng and Ke Liu. The inspiration of these pieces is based on works by Li Bai, Wang Wei, and Bai Juyi, three of the most famous ancient Tang Dynasty poets. The Tang Dynasty is considered a golden age of Chinese arts and culture. As the political, economic, military, and cultural center of the Tang Dynasty, Chang’an City (now Xi’an City) was the capital of the 13th Dynasty, and is the starting place of the ancient Silk Road. The rhetoric poems of the Tang Dynasty are a valuable cultural heritage, covering all aspects of the society. Poems have strong musical attributes and in ancient times poetry and music were inseparable. Chinese characters set the image, sound and word meaning into one. These “Twelve Fantasies,” using poetry as creative omspiration, attempt to interpret the Tang Dynasty in the form of musical language. It is also an effort to combine the two sister arts of music and literature. The bassoon solos have both technical and interpretive demands for the advanced player.