Click on main image for larger view and sample pages

Alvira: Toccata for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon & piano

Alvira: Toccata for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon & piano

Code: JP5115
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0172-4

PRICE: $29.25

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Jose Rodriguez Alvira's Toccata for woodwind quartet and piano was written in 1991. The Jeanne edition is the first publication of this exciting music from Puerto Rico.

The word toccata is commonly associated with short pieces for a keyboard instrument, where the composer/interpreter displays his technique and virtuosity. But examples of toccatas written for other instruments can be found in both the past and present periods. Alvira's Toccata is one, three-part movement with a slow and expressive central section preceded and followed by two fast and rhythmic sections. Melodic, harmonic and rhythmic elements are common to all sections. It is a powerful work, full of rhythmic drive and intense harmonies as well as beautiful, lyrical writing. Duration approximately 8.5 minutes.

Audio sample from Alvira: Toccata

Click here for bio information on Jose Rodriguez Alvira