Griebling-Haigh: Hebert Variations for piccolo & piano

Griebling-Haigh: Hebert Variations for piccolo & piano

Code: JP8005
Grade: 8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0266-0

PRICE: $14.50

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

This work for piccolo and piano was commissioned by 16 flutists and piccolo players who were students and colleagues of William Hebert, solo piccolo in the Cleveland Orchestra from 1947-1988. There are eight variations, all based on six notes created from the letters of Mr. Hebert's name. This work was the required composition for the 2005 National Flute Association's Solo Piccolo Competition.

Barry Kilpatrick, Amercan Record Guide: I can say that the Hebert Variations is the most enjoyable piccolo piece I've heard since...1999.

Donald Rosenberg of The Plain Dealer (Cleveland) says this music "throws out stereo-types of this high-flying instrument in music of haunting and charismatic personality."

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
The following sample shows the opening and variation 5.

Click here for sample pages

Audio sample from Griebling-Haigh: Hebert Variations for Piccolo and Piano

Click here for composer bio