Elgar (Anderson): Romance for Bass Clarinet and Piano, op. 62

Elgar (Anderson): Romance for Bass Clarinet and Piano, op. 62

Code: JP2118
Grade: 7
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0189-2

PRICE: $5.95

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Sir Edward William Elgar (1857-1934) was one of England’s most influential composers. His father wanted him to be a lawyer and he was sent to London to concentrate on legal studies. After three years, convinced that he was not suitable for a legal career, Edward returned home and absorbed himself in musical activities. He became the concertmaster of the local orchestra, presented violin recitals and played bassoon in a woodwind quintet.

By 1899, Elgar achieved international fame with his Enigma Variations. In the period between 1909-1910, he composed the Romance in D minor, Op. 62, for bassoon and orchestra and dedicated it to the principal bassoonist of the London Symphony Orchestra, Edward F. James. The first performance was given at Hereford in 1911 with the composer conducting.

For this current edition, John Anderson has adapted the bassoon part for bass clarinet. Although a bass clarinet with a range to low C is preferred, if this is not available, only one note needs to be raised an octave, making this a wonderful, lyrical addition to the repertoire for the bass clarinet. The accompaniment is reduced for piano.

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
Click here for sample pages