Draeseke: Kleine Suite, op. 87 (English Horn and Piano)

Draeseke: Kleine Suite, op. 87 (English Horn and Piano)

Code: JP1077
Grade: 7
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0138-0

PRICE: $9.75

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

Felix August Bernhard Draeseke (1835-1913), born in Coburg, Germany, was attracted to music early in life and wrote his first composition at age 8. During his career Draeseke composed works in many genres, including symphonies, concertos, operas, solo piano works and chamber music. His compositions were held in high regard, even among his musical opponents, during his life and the period shortly following his death. Changes in fashion and political climates allowed his name and music to slip into relative obscurity, but as the 20th Century ended, recordings spurred a renewed interest in his music.

Kleine Suite for English Horn and Piano, Op. 87 was completed at the beginning of February, 1911. This work was Draeseke’s final chamber work and the last instrumental work which he personally edited for publication. The music is Romantic in style with only moderate technical demands.

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
Click here for sample pages (from score):
movement 1
movement 2
movement 3