Bach, J.S.: Partita in g minor (after BWV 1013) for oboe solo (Jeanne)

Bach, J.S.: Partita in g minor (after BWV 1013) for oboe solo (Jeanne)

Code: JP1058
Grade: 7-8
Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
ISMN: 979-0-3019-0316-2

PRICE: $7.95

In stock, available for immediate delivery

Product Description

It is believed today, that the Partita for Solo Flute originated from Bach’s Cothen period (1770-1723), during which time he composed many chamber works. Virtually unknown at the time, the "Partita in a-moll fur Flote solo, BWV1013" was not included in the Gesamtausgabe der Bachgesellschaft of 1900.

The Partita is a dance suite, consisting of four popular dances from the time; the Allemande, Corrente, Sarabande and the Bourree Angloise. The source for the Jeanne edition is the manuscript from the Berlin library. It was common practice during Bach’s time that works were played with alternate instrumentation. We have taken the liberty of transposing this work to G Minor, making it more accessible for oboists. We have made a few corrections in this new edition, where there were obvious errors.

As was common with most eighteenth century scores, few articulation marks were included in the original manuscript. We have not added new articulations to our edition. The performer is expected to add articulation markings where appropriate. In addition, ornamentation may be added on repeats according to the performer’s experience and personal tastes.

Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
Click here for sample pages (from score):
movement 1
movement 2
movement 3
movement 4