Expertise — Fast, Dependable Service — Everyday Low Prices


Bach-Schumann-Camwell: Allegro Assai, BWV 1005 (Alto Saxophone/Piano)
Bach-Schumann-Camwell: Allegro Assai, BWV 1005 (Alto Saxophone/Piano)
    Code: JP4060
    Price: $7.25
    Grade: 7-8
    Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
    ISMN: 979-0-3019-0155-7

    Quantity in your basket: None

    In stock, available for immediate delivery



    The Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin (BWV 1001–1006) are a set of six works composed by Johann Sebastian Bach. The set was completed by 1720 but was not published until 1802 by Simrock. Even after publication, it was largely ignored until the celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim started performing these works. In 1853, Robert Schumann heard a performance of Bach’s Chaconne with Mendelssohn's piano accompaniment. Schumann thought that other works of Bach for solo violin would reach a wider audience if they also had piano accompaniments. He suggested this idea to the publisher Hartel on January 4 and completed the accompaniments to the six sonatas by February 5. This arrangement for alto saxophone and piano is based upon the last movement from Sonata No. 3 BWV 1005 for violin along with Robert Schumann’s accompaniment.

    Circular breathing is preferred for this solo, although selected notes may be omitted and/or phrasing liberties taken at the performer's discretion for breaths. Duration approx. 3.5 minutes. An alternate version for soprano saxophone and piano is also available. Click on the link listed below to see the soprano saxophone version.

    Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
    Click here for sample pages

    A video performance of Bach-Schumann-Camwell: "Allegro Assai" from Sonata No. 3, BWV 1005 is available on YouTube

    Or click the following
    Audio sample from Bach/Schumann(Camwell): "Allegro Assai" from Sonata No. 3, BWV 1005 for Alto Saxophone and Piano

    Click here for bio information on Dave Camwell

    Click here for grading explanation

    Related Item(s)
    Code Name Price
    JP4058 Bach (Camwell): Prelude from Partita BWV 1006 arr. for saxophone solo $5.25
    JP4061 Bach-Schumann-Camwell: Allegro Assai, BWV 1005 (Soprano Saxophone/Piano) $7.25