Expertise — Fast, Dependable Service — Everyday Low Prices


Wagner (Wright): Siegfried Idyll, arr. for clarinet choir
Wagner (Wright): Siegfried Idyll, arr. for clarinet choir
    Code: JP2138
    Price: $62.50
    Grade: 7
    Publisher: Jeanne Inc.
    ISMN: 979-0-3019-0396-4

    Quantity in your basket: None

    In stock, available for immediate delivery



    Originally entitled “Tribschen Idyll”, Siegfried Idyll was composed in Tribschen in 1870 as a birthday present for Cosima, Wagner's wife. The Idyll is a labor of love, a sumptuous piece of music that expressed Wagner’s paternal and romantic love in a tender and unforgettable way.

    Most of the Idyll’s themes are found in the opera Siegfried, but Wagner did not simply transfer themes from one work to another. The first melody is heard in Act III of the opera, but it actually originated in a string quartet written six years earlier. Similarly, the German folk lullaby, “Schlaf, Kindchen, Schalfe”, was assumed to refer to the Wagners’ baby Siegfried, but it was actually linked to the older daughter Eva. These and other musical references, whose meaning remained unknown to the outside world for many years, reveal the Idyll’s levels of personal significance for both Richard and Cosima Wagner.

    This arrangement for clarinet choir by William Wright is scored for E-flat soprano clarinets 1-2 (with alternate part for B-flat clarinet in place of E-flat Clarinet 2), B-flat clarinets 1-4, Alto Clarinet (or Basset Horn) 1-2, Bass Clarinet, Contra Alto Clarinet, Contrabass Clarinet, and String Bass. The set includes a full score, 2 stands for B-flat Clarinets 1-4 and for Bass Clarinet, and 1 stand for each of the other parts. If extra parts are needed, contact Jeanne, Inc.

    Duration: approximately 20 minutes (depending on tempo).

    Adobe Reader software or similar PDF viewer is needed to see music samples.
    Click here for sample pages

    Audio sample from Wagner (Wright): Siegfried Idyll

    Click here for bio information on William Wright

    Click here for grading explanation

    Related Item(s)
    Code Name Price
    JP2139 Brahms (Wright): Finale to Symphony No. 3, arr. for clarinet choir $39.75